# **Argyll and Bute Council**

Comhairle Earra-Ghàidheal Agus Bhòid

Executive Director: Douglas Hendry



Kilmory, Lochgilphead, PA31 8RT Tel: 01546 602127 Fax: 01546 604435 DX 599700 LOCHGILPHEAD 5 October 2023

#### **NOTICE OF MEETING**

A meeting of the POLICY AND RESOURCES COMMITTEE will be held ON A HYBRID BASIS IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER AND BY MICROSOFT TEAMS on THURSDAY, 12 OCTOBER 2023 at 10:30 AM, which you are requested to attend.

Douglas Hendry Executive Director

### **BUSINESS**

- 1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE
- 2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (IF ANY)
- **3. MINUTES** (Pages 5 10)

Policy and Resources Committee held on 10 August 2023

\* 4. FINANCIAL REPORTS MONITORING PACK - 31 AUGUST 2023 (Pages 11 - 126)

Report by Section 95 Officer

\* 5. BUDGET OUTLOOK 2024-25 TO 2028-29 (Pages 127 - 148)

Report by Section 95 Officer

6. BUDGET SIMULATOR EXERCISE - FINDINGS (Pages 149 - 156)

Report by Executive Director with responsibility for Customer Support Services

7. UPDATE ON POLICY FOR EMPTY PROPERTY RELIEF IN NON-DOMESTIC RATES FROM 1 APRIL 2024 (Pages 157 - 180)

Report by Section 95 Officer

8. DEVELOPMENT OF AREA PLANS TO REFLECT INVESTMENT OPPORTUNITIES (Pages 181 - 198)

Report by Chief Executive

9. PLACE BASED INVESTMENT PROGRAMME FUND 2021 – 2024 ALLOCATIONS AND PROJECT UPDATES (Pages 199 - 208)

Report by Executive Director with responsibility for Development and Economic Growth

### 10. CROWN ESTATES FUNDING

(a) Crown Estate 2019-2023 Allocations and Project Updates (Pages 209 - 226)

Report by Executive Director with responsibility for Development and Economic Growth

(b) Crown Estate 2023/24 Allocation and Possible Projects (Pages 227 - 232) Report by Executive Director with responsibility for Development and Economic Growth

#### 11. RURAL GROWTH DEAL – UPDATE PAPER (Pages 233 - 246)

Report by Executive Director with responsibility for Development and Economic Growth

### 12. NATURE RESTORATION FUND - SPEND OPTIONS (Pages 247 - 252)

Report by Executive Director with responsibility for Development and Economic Growth and Roads and Infrastructure Services; and Executive Director with responsibility for Commercial Services

13. CLIMATE CHANGE BOARD UPDATE AND DE-CARBONISATION TRACKER (Pages 253 - 276)

Report by Executive Director with responsibility for Commercial Services

#### **REPORTS FOR NOTING**

14. POLICY AND RESOURCES COMMITTEE WORKPLAN (Pages 277 - 280)

#### **EXEMPT REPORT FOR DECISION**

## E1 15. ROTHESAY PAVILION UPDATE (Pages 281 - 288)

Report by Executive Director with responsibility for Development and Economic Growth and Executive Director with responsibility for Commercial Services

Items marked with an "asterisk" are items, on the basis of information available at the time this Agenda is published, on which the Committee may not have delegated powers to act, and which may therefore require to be referred to the Council or another Committee, and that referral may depend on the decision reached at the meeting.

The Committee will be asked to pass a resolution in terms of Section 50(A)(4) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 to exclude the public for items of business with an "E" on the grounds that it is likely to involve the disclosure of exempt information as defined in the appropriate paragraph of Part I of Schedule 7a to the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973.

The appropriate paragraphs are:-

**E1** Paragraph 8 The amount of any expenditure proposed to be incurred by the authority under any particular contract for the acquisition of property or the supply of goods or services.

**Paragraph 9** Any terms proposed or to be proposed by or to the authority in the course of negotiations for a contract for the acquisition or disposal of property or the supply of goods or services.

# **Policy and Resources Committee**

Councillor Gordon Blair Councillor Robin Currie (Chair)

Councillor Audrey Forrest
Councillor Amanda Hampsey
Councillor Willie Hume
Councillor Reeni Kennedy-Boyle

Councillor Audrey Forrest
Councillor Kieron Green
Councillor Fiona Howard
Councillor Andrew Kain
Councillor Jim Lynch

Councillor Liz McCabe Councillor Yvonne McNeilly

Councillor Ross Moreland Councillor Gary Mulvaney (Vice-Chair)

Councillor Dougie Philand Councillor Alastair Redman

Contact: Hazel MacInnes Tel: 01546 604269